“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

The other night Aj and I were hanging out when an argument arose. He was upset because I’m not the kind of person to put my tail between my legs and let my head sink below my shoulders, but that’s been my life the past few months. He was mad because I was turning into someone I always vowed to never be. I’m a strong woman who doesn’t get walked all over, but because of circumstances I thought I had to be a human doormat and “that was just life.” I was wrong.

So now, I’m taking my stand.

You should take your stand too. Get out of that emotionally abusive relationship/friendship, leave the job that treats you like shit, stand up to anyone who tries to devalue you. Realize your worth. My last blog post was about not putting someone down and that we all have to love each other. Now it’s time for you to love yourself and stop allowing others to put you down.

The Help has this really good quote, and I promise you’ve probably heard of it. It says, “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” It’s such a basic quote, but it’s a quote that sometimes we need to tell ourselves. “I am kind. I am smart. I am important.” Screw anyone else who doesn’t see that. I haven’t seen that in myself the past few months. It took a loved one to remind me of it, and that’s ok.

So let me remind you like I had to be reminded. You can do whatever you set your mind too. You have these strengths you need to capitalize on. You are valuable. You don’t deserve to be put down like you have been. Pick your head up. Take control back. As Eleanor Roosevelt said, “no one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” They can only put you down if you let them. Stop letting them.

Love always,

SaraValley

 


Leave a comment